top of page

Who won at the 68th National Film Awards - Complete Winners List

Complete list of 68th National Film Awards winners

Established in 1954, initially as 'State Awards', the National Film Awards has come a long way and has become one of the highest accolades the film professionals in India receive today.

Organized by the Directorate of Film Festivals, this year's awards were announced in New Delhi at National Media Centre. Due to the covid delays, this year's ceremony also honored films from 2020 across several categories. Filmmaker Vipul Shah led the 10-member jury for the year which also included cinematographer Dharam Gulati, National Award-winning Bengali actor Sreelekha Mukherjee, cinematographer GS Bhaskar, A Karthikraaja, VN Aditya, Viji Thampi, Sanjeev Rattan, S Thangadurai and Nishigandha.

Check out the complete list of winners below:

Ajay Devgn wins National Film Award for Best Actor for Tanhaji in 2022
Ajay Devgn in Tanhaji

Feature Films:

Best Feature Film: Soorarai Pottru (Tamil)

Best Director: Sachy aka Sachidanandan KR for Ayyappanum Koshiyum (Malayalam)

Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment: Tanhaji (Hindi)

Best Actor: Suriya for Soorarai Pottru (Tamil) and Ajay Devgn for Tanhaji (Hindi)

Best Actress: Aparna Balamurali for Soorarai Pottru (Tamil)

Best Supporting Actor: Biju Menon for Ayyappanum Koshiyam (Malayalam)

Best Supporting Actress: Lakshmi Priya Chandramouli for Sivaranjaniyum Innam Sila Pengallum (Tamil)

A still from National Award winner Soorarai Pottru

Best Screenplay: Shalini Usha Nair and Sudha Kongara for Soorarai Pottru (Tamil)

Best Screenplay (Dialogue Writer): Madonne Ashwin for Mandela (Tamil)

Best Music Direction (Songs): Thaman S for Ala Vaikunthapurramuloo (Malayalam)

Best Music Direction (Background Music): GV Prakash for Soorarai Pottru (Tamil)