top of page

TOP 10 of INdian Cinema

In a first-ever survey to judge the best of Indian Cinema in the year 2017, the IFI requested 14 eminent Film Critics of India to recommend their choice of top 10 Indian films and top three performances by an actor male and female in order of preference. The choices listed by the Critics were given marks by IFI e.g. the film rated by the Critic as No. 1 got 10 marks while the one placed at No. 10 got 01 marks. A similar formula was applied to the Performances by the Actors as well. The objective was to create a country-wide consensus on the Best of Indian Cinema which has largely been achieved if one goes by the Final List. However, this is just the beginning of an objective analysis and the first ever neutral rating of Indian Cinema and its actors. The Final results arrived at along with the Resume of the participating eminent Film Critics are as under:  


  1. Newton (Hindi): Directed by Amit V Masurkar

  2. A Death in the Gunj (English-Hindi): Directed by Konkona Sen Sharma

  3. Mukti Bhavan (Hindi): Directed by Shubhashish Bhutiani

  4. Lipstick Under My Burkha (Hindi) : Directed by Alankrita Srivastava

  5. Anaarkali of Aarah (Hindi): Directed by Avinash Das

  6. Trapped (Hindi): Directed by Vikramaditya Motwane

  7. Ajji (Hindi): Directed by Devashish Makhija

  8. Take Off (Malayalam-English): Directed by Mahesh Narayan

  9. Secret Superstar (Hindi): Directed by Advait Chandan & Jagga Jasoos (Hindi): Directed by Anurag Basu

  10. Harikatha Prasanga (Kannada): Directed by Ananya Kasarvalli and Atanu Ghosh’s Mayurakshi (Bengali).

best actor 2017 (male)

1. Rajkummar Rao - Newton / Trapped / Bareilly ki Barfi

2. Irrfan Khan- Hindi Medium / Doob: No Bed of Roses / QaribQaribSinglle

3. Pankaj Tripathy- Gurgaon / Newton /Bareilly ki Barfi / Anaarkali of Aarah

best actor 2017 (FEmale)

1. Vidya Balan - Tumhari Sulu

2. Ratna Pathak Shah - Lipstick under My Burkha

3. Swara Bhaskar - Anaarkali of Aarah

The survey invited top 14 Film Critics of the country through a rating mechanism where a film rated by the Critic at No. 1 spot got 10 marks while the one placed at No. 10 got 01 mark and so on. The Critics who participated in the Survey included Ajay Brahmatmaj, Swapan Mullick, Gautaman Bhaskaran, Saibal Chatterjee, K N T Sastry, Ratnottama Sengupta, Namrata Joshi, Dalton L, Alaka Sahani, Sachin Chate, M K Raghavendra, Siraj Syed, Chandi Mukherjee and Arnab Bannerjee.

Participating Film Critics

bottom of page